A bit of a diversion…



While we’re rebuilding the war chest and planning our next move, I’ve been goofing around with windows movie maker and done a few little videos. Often times folks will post old home movies and they will either have some kind of modern soundtrack, or if it is someone from the trad rod scene, a kind of neo-rockabilly deal. I got really tired of rockabilly in the 1980s, and never regained a taste for it. Besides, it always seems to fit better with 1950’s footage anyway, not 1960’s drag racing. So I added songs that to me, lend themselves more to the mid-60’s vibe.  

The first one is some of the dragster clips from the Lou Baney home movies that were posted on the Jalopy Journal. Soundtrack is Hotline by the Bomboras.

The second one is footage from the ’65 Indy Nats and the ’65 Winternats set to She Rides a Chopper by Evan Foster.

I think the films further illustrate that at least in my opinion, modern drag racing will never hold a candle to drag racing in the 60’s.

Enjoy!

6 Responses to “A bit of a diversion…”

  1. Michael Edick Says:

    Guardrails? we don’t need no stinkin’ guardrails!

    • rocinante rides again Says:

      Aww, there were guardrails! They were just on the other side of the 20 feet of grass on either side of the track! 😉 It actually saved more cars than today’s rails on the edge of the track. It’s my understanding that the problems happened when those guys got outta shape on the grass and then didn’t lift and tried to continue the run and get the car back on the track. I guess that’s what used to happen when the average fuel dragster driver was 23 years old and not 63 years old, like today. 😉

  2. Michael Edick Says:

    and the photog’s standing on the edge of the track…on the grass between the track and the guardrail!

    boy, times have changed…

  3. Vince Says:

    You guys got me thinking and now I’m looking at building one of my own. My wife is pissed at you guys! Great build keep it up.

    Vince

    • rocinante rides again Says:

      Way to go Vince! Our deal will obviously take years before its done- a recent pay cut and continuing alimony put the completion date further out a bit, but it will absolutely happen. Be sure to let us know about your build!

  4. Mark Fullard Says:

    Really enjoyed those movies Dean. I agree with your comments re- the music. I’ve got some great home movies on DVD ste to Classical music!! Waltzs’ even!!!
    Good luck with the war chest, most of mine is being spent on household (garage) electrical these days.

Leave a comment