Touching Base

It has been a long time since I’ve updated the blog. This year has seen me distracted with another major project involving music. I wrapped that up and it’s time to get back on the dragster after the holidays. I was able to pick up a powerglide with all the shields, and an 8″ converter for a good price at the race car swap meet at Sacramento Raceway in early November. The only bug is that it’s a full length and I didn’t realize how involved it would be to convert it to a shorty. Not impossible, but more work than I anticipated. I will have to call on the talents of my friend Will Rogers to machine and install a new short output shaft on the planetary. But that will happen in Jan/Feb.

The dragster has been stored at a friend’s shop an hour or so away since late summer and will be come back in February some time to have some progress made. The goal by the end of 2014 is to have the glassing done, and tail section mounted, the rear end gears and brake setup completed, the trans modified and installed, the cockpit controls fabricated, the new cam/lifters/valve springs installed and the oil pan and pickup modified.

It’s a lot to do, and I would hope that I could find a way to have the car track-worthy by this time next year, but I’ll have to wait and see. Even with the big chunks done, there are a ton of nickel and dime jobs and parts – the fuel injection setup needs to be checked and gone through, it needs to be plumbed and wired, a fire bottle setup bought and mounted, and so on and so forth. I still may do a Kickstarter campaign in order to get the financial horsepower to totally complete her and get the driving gear I need in order to make a pass.

Before I go, I need to mention the savior of this project – my good friend Don London. His contribution is what allowed me to get the trans and some of the other parts that are on my shopping list. He is a full partner in the dragster now, so it will be “Havery, London, & Seavers”

Watch this space in the upcoming months for regular updates once Roc is back in my garage.

Thanks for all the interest.

Dean

6 Responses to “Touching Base”

  1. Michael Says:

    Personally I like the sound of “Havey, London, Edick & Seaver myself… ;o)

    Looking forward to being back home for one thing, and getting my hands dirty for another, and the Roc sounds like a good way to blow the cobwebs off my welding hood!

    • rocinante rides again Says:

      I don’t get the last “S” on my name? 😉 If you want in, it can certainly be arranged. You’re okay with the blood oath, yes?

      • Michael Says:

        you can have as many “S’s” as you like…
        I’d be happy with a couple of MTE Engineering stickers on the car.
        BTW, at some point we need to get my Beat the Clock down to you, and probably out of your garage before the Roc can go home I would think…

      • rocinante rides again Says:

        The goal is to have the “thanks tos” painted on the car, and I had always intended on either your name or MTE painted on. Your choice. Just want to keep all the graphics looking like they would in 1963. Fully anticipating the Beat the Clock this coming year – I just need warm weather in order to paint, otherwise it will do goofy things and cause adhesion problems. So ideally, it will have to regularly be in the 70’s in order to paint. But, I can always store it in my dining room if we run into you needing the shop space before it’s warm enough for me to repaint the pinball machine.

  2. Vince Says:

    Quick question, what’s your impression of the King Chassis? Is it well built with good construction and nice welds. Would you recommend buying one? Thanks

    Love reading along and following your build.

    • rocinante rides again Says:

      Hi Vince-

      Yes, I’m pleased with the quality of the King Chassis and Brian is a really good guy to work with. If I had it to do over, I wouldn’t have asked Brian to add the extra space behind the axle though, but that’s on me because it was my big idea to have a roll cage that had that much layback to it. I’m pretty sure I can make it work, but it presents some seating and cockpit layout challenges that will have to be sorted out.

      It will also probably call for some extra weight on the front end to counterbalance me hanging farther behind the rear axle, but fingers crossed that at the end of the day it ends up not being a big deal. Are you selling your Falcon to go the dragster route?

Leave a Reply

